Daily Check in Sept 11, 2018

This is the front porch of our forum. Pull up a chair, and talk about whatever's on your mind.
mbrudnic

Daily Check in Sept 11, 2018

Post by mbrudnic »

Good Morning folks,

My parents and my aunt and Uncle are heading inland today to avoid Florence. I texted my brother a happy birthday.

And where were you 17 yers ago? I was a DoD Contractor on base. They sent us home. 40 of us showed up at our corporate office, hanging out int he conference room. The president came in and said "OK, those of you who have work you can do at home for your client, go. The rest of you, choose material from our library here for certification or self improvement and take it home. If you don't want to do that, you may take PTO." So we got paid. Not all contractors were paid during the time off by their companies.

Maggie
floridacatlover

Re: Daily Check in Sept 11, 2018

Post by floridacatlover »

Good morning Maggie and all.

I’m up early because I’m still on UK time.

Seventeen years ago I was driving to work listening to music when they interrupted to say that the second plane hit the World Trade Center. At work I called mom and finally got a message to her through a neighbor. She had been working in the yard. Our office all gathered around the black-and-white TV with the aluminum foil on the antenna to watch CBS. I remember the news sites online being super slow, no video. CNN stripped out all photos and was text only. The best news online was from BBC. I was supposed to host a baby shower for a gal in the Art Department at a local restaurant at noon but we cancelled it. About the time the second tower fell we all went home.
frugalaaron

Post by frugalaaron »

Seventeen years ago...
Jackielou

Post by Jackielou »